Unconditional LOVE

I was blessed with 4 people who demonstrated unconditional LOVE towards me.  They taught me, by example, how to LOVE, with no strings attached.
I am so thankful that as a result of receiving, living through being loved unconditionally, I can now use my life to pay it forward and LOVE my “children” unconditionally as well.
This is not something I read about in a book, or saw in a movie, or saw a Facebook post or page about. I didn’t read it in a newspaper, Lisa Ling didn’t do a report about it. Oprah and Iyanlana didn’t do a special on the subject.
It’s so much more than an abstract concept in my life. I lived it on the receiving end so that I might be able to live it on the giving end. That is our ultimate purpose in life. That’s what Jesus was trying to teach us.
When I tell you,  I love you and there’s nothing you can do about it,” I mean that with every fiber of my being.
I have always been amazed, humbled, and awed by my children. It’s hard to fathom that the universe trusts me enough to care for such magnificent beings. When I look at them, I see the beauty in all creation. I see the awesome imperfection in perfection. What we perceive as our flaws, is the perfection in action. We’re not meant to be all for each other. That’s impossible. We’re meant to LOVE each other, just the  way we are.

image

We have to begin by loving ourselves totally. Everything. We know all of our own secrets and things we don’t talk about with others. The unmentionable stuff. We have to forgive ourselves and love ourselves anyway. That’s the only way we can learn to LOVE each other anyway. Unconditionally! 

Leave a Reply

